Home > studio > Last weekend of the summer

Last weekend of the summer

School starts tomorrow.  I’m kind of dreading it.  Once it starts, the current carries you, but the atmosphere is such a contrast from the calm summer session, and the change is completely abrupt.

I had big plans for time in the studio this weekend, and I did spend most of Saturday and part of today there.  I was thinking I’d do some throwing, which I haven’t done for months.  However…I had three handbuilt platters to finish up which took WAY longer than I thought it would.

This evening I tried to handbuild some cups…and well, this is the result:

Handbuilding?  I think I’m drawing the line at cups.  I love throwing cups on the wheel…handbuilding them not so much. And, I think I’m just bad at it.

I am, however, kind of jazzed about the thick textured rim I put on a couple of the platters:

So…onward to the new academic year.  My 16th (!) at UF.

  1. Tracey
    August 22, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    This is how I make cups when I have to make cups, although I don’t like to make cups!
    Get a medium soda drink at a fast food place, mine is KFC and make a pattern from it. Then add a coil or a 1″ strip for the bottom foot ring. Easy peasy, you can texture the slab before you fold it up. These are nice tumblers, forget the handles! They would look great with your platters. I roll out my slab to 1/4″

    • Ann
      August 23, 2010 at 11:52 am

      My downfall is impatience….clay doesn’t like that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment