Home > pottery, travel > Asheville

Asheville

I’m in Asheville for a week on vacation, taking a workshop with Lana Wilson at the Odyssey Center for the Ceramic Arts.     Lana is a very dynamic teacher and we learned lots today.  Above are a some examples of a layered slip decorating technique.  Way fun.

  1. Malena
    June 11, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    Looking forward to seeing some of your finished products! I started playing around with the technique today with the velvets – I think I like using the slip better.

    • Ann
      June 17, 2010 at 2:52 pm

      Malina, you know I did both (slip/velvets)on those slabs I made in Asheville. They look fine in the bisque and I’m interested to see how they’ll do under the clear glaze. I’ve had issues with the velvets before being too translucent on a dark ground (like the black slip). I put a BUNCH of coats though. We shall see–probably will glaze fire this weekend. Will post pix.

      • Malena
        June 18, 2010 at 6:40 pm

        Yes, please post pics! I didn’t apply many coats and the velvets seemed a lot thinner than the slip. It seems like they take FOREVER to dry and I am not that patient! 🙂 I guess it is a good lesson for me – but I did break out the heat gun to speed up the drying time!

  2. June 15, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    I love Lana’s work; I wish I was at that workshop; the plates are wonderful.

    • Ann
      June 17, 2010 at 2:54 pm

      Thanks, Linda! Lana’s workshop was FAB! You should seek her out if you’re shopping for workshop opportunities 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

