Home > pendants, pottery, studio > Prototypes

Prototypes

Here’s a quick photo of some sort of finished (fired anyway) pendant prototypes:

I’ve been wearing them the last couple of weeks on different cords/chains, trying to figure out what works best.   Can you tell which one I like the best?

Categories: pendants, pottery, studio Tags:
  1. August 13, 2010 at 11:01 am | #1

    Gotta be one of the black & white ones…

  2. Hope Johnson
    August 13, 2010 at 12:24 pm | #2

    Ohhhh! VERY nice! I’ll be interested to see which option you go with. To me, it looks like the black cords do well with the darker (or mostly black) pendants. I like the silver chains with the lighter colored pendants. How are you attaching the metal pieces to the pendants?

    • Ann
      August 13, 2010 at 12:47 pm | #3

      I used E-6000 to glue the bails. I found the bails through this etsy store: http://www.etsy.com/shop/RayDichroic . The glue on ones are really hard to find, surprisingly…and then mostly the ones you find are more decorative than I want. These are really simple and contemporary looking. He has different sizes, both plain silver and with some simple texture on the visible part.

      I also just bought some triangular sterling jump rings through another etsy seller…to try out on the ones I put holes in. (No interest in metal working here…) Stay tuned :)

  3. Cara List
    August 13, 2010 at 5:47 pm | #4

    Wow, Ann– these are beautiful! I’m not sure I know which of these you like best, perhaps because I can’t quite decide which ones I like best! I love the pendants on silver chains. These are very elegant and intentional looking. I agree with Hope that this works best with the lighter colored ones, though it’s also possible that some of those are just my favorites. Or it might be that I like those chains better. For some reason I don’t like the twisted nubby-looking chain with these pendants as much as I like the smoother ones.

    I also like some of the cord solutions– especially number five from the left and the orang-y colored one on the right side. the weight of the cord and the fact that they have some device that allows the cord to be attached without cluttering up the top of the pendant is what I like with these two. The other pendant with a bead is also okay, but I want the bead to be further away from the pendant.

    Really excellent work. I’ll pay you a bribe to hold either number five from the left (ligher color with a silver chain) or the squarish piece on a silver chain that hangs slightly lower than the others for me!

    • Ann
      August 15, 2010 at 10:51 pm | #5

      Thanks for the feedback, Cara! The squarish one you like is my current favorite I think… If you look at that tray of unfired ones in the earlier post you can see I made a bunch of this similar to that one. I really like those silver snake chains too…my only issue is that I’ve only found suppliers for 20 inch ones, and I’d like the option of longer ones.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

